According to the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS), accidental injuries are the main cause of death for people under the age of 35. Every year, at least 31 million people visit the doctor due to an accidental injury, and at least 29 million make it to the emergency room. In many of these cases, someone else is to blame and the person who was the victim has the right to be compensated.
What Should You Do If You Are a Victim?
If your injury was the result of a car accident, the first thing you need to do is inform the police and contact your lawyer, if you already have one. If not, make sure to find someone experienced with personal injury law, like the attorneys from Jebaily Law, to ensure you get maximum compensation.
It’s also a good idea to inform the person at fault that you plan on filing a claim to get compensation for your injuries as well as any property damage that occurred.
Don’t forget to report the accident to your insurance company. If you don’t, your policy might be invalidated so make sure you are aware of the exact reporting conditions laid out by your insurance company. However, make sure to speak to your lawyer first because insurance companies often deny a claim based on the statement you give them when you call them to report an accident. Your lawyer will be able to help you with that statement to reduce the chances of your claim being denied.
You will also have to see a doctor, no matter how minor the injury might seem. First of all, seeing a doctor is necessary because what appears as a minor injury on the surface could be much more serious and you will only find out later when it’s too late. Secondly, if you do end up in court to obtain compensation, your doctor will have to submit a medical report pertaining to your condition.
A good idea is to gather as much evidence as you can about your injuries and the accident. For example, you could take photos of the accident and the cause of the injury. Also, try to write out the details of what happened while you still remember them. If anyone witnessed the accident, ask for their names and addresses in case you need more proof of what happened.
Later, continue logging the events related to the accident, such as any medical costs you incur, lost wages or work and so on.
Don’t Wait Too Long to File a Claim
While there is no limit on how much time you have to notify someone that you plan on filing a claim, as long as the other party is not the government or a related agency. However, it’s generally a good idea to act quickly. The faster you act and the more efficient you are, the greater the chances you have of resolving the issue just as quickly and efficiently.
Note that there are statutes of limitations beyond which you will no longer be able to file a claim. These differ by state and can range from as little as 1 year in Kentucky to as long as 6 years in Maine. Once the date has passed, though, you will no longer be able to seek compensation for your personal injuries.
In a personal injury claim, the support of an experienced attorney is invaluable. They can guide you through a harrowing process, helping you avoid making mistakes that could cost you any form of compensation. Furthermore, in the event you decide to file a suit against the person who was at fault, an experienced lawyer will be able to help you maximize the compensation you are awarded.