Terminating a marriage is never an easy decision, but it doesn’t have to be legally complicated. Filing for divorce in Connecticut is comparatively simpler. You don’t need your spouse’s approval to get the divorce, and you can finalize your divorce within 90 days from the date of filing. Although not necessary, working with a top-rated law firm can help your divorce and resolve conflicts with your spouse. In this post, we are answering the top questions related to divorce in Connecticut.
- Can I file for a no-fault divorce in Connecticut?
Yes, Connecticut allows for no-fault divorce, and there is a minimum wait period of 90 days before your divorce can be finalized. There are two grounds for no-fault divorces in Connecticut – separation for at least eighteen months and an “irretrievable breakdown” of marriage. If even one of the spouses has no intentions to continue with the marriage or hope for reconciliation, a divorce can be granted.
- Do I need to hire an attorney?
A do-it-yourself divorce may sound lucrative and affordable, but it may not be the best choice. If your spouse has already hired an attorney, you should consider legal representation. Most attorneys in Connecticut work on an hourly rate, and unless there are major conflicts, hiring a lawyer doesn’t have to be expensive. A good lawyer can protect your interests and rights, and they can help with mediation and negotiation. If you are not on talking terms with your spouse, hiring an attorney is your best bet.
- What are the fault grounds in Connecticut?
If you want a fault-based divorce, where you accuse your spouse of marital misconduct, you need to find a suitable ground. In Connecticut, grounds for divorce include adultery, absence from the marriage for at least seven years, willful desertion for a year or more, and habitual intemperance. You can also get a divorce on grounds like conviction of a felony, habitual intemperance, and intolerable cruelty. Talk to your attorney to know about the suitable ground for your divorce.
Note that Connecticut allows for equitable property division. This means that both spouses have their share of assets and debts acquired during the marriage, and equitably doesn’t always mean equal. You will be required to submit all documents related to your income and investments if you want to get alimony from your spouse. Talk to an attorney to know more about Connecticut divorce laws.